## Queensland Ambulance Surat

or many years Surat and district was serviced from the Roma Ambulance Centre; and although the service was an efficient one, it was felt by the residents that an ambulance centre could be established at Surat. To ascertain the views of the residents in this direction, a public meeting sponsored by the Waroo Shire Council and presided over by Councillor A.S.L. Stewart was held on 29 May 1949. Councillor Stewart informed the meeting that the Shire Council was prepared to give a donation £500 towards the establishment of a QATB Service. Superintendent Teale of Roma addressed the meeting and indicated that early in the new financial year, a Sub-Centre complete with an ambulance car and staffed by a permanent officer could be set up in Surat. An appeal for donations at the meeting brought promises of £155. A Benefit Committee was formed, comprising P.J. Butler, G.O. Armstrong, E. Naylor, R. Gate, J. Ferrier, R.C. Adams, L.C. Jones, A.S. Stewart and Mrs J.S. Elkington and Mrs E.C. Wain.

A Sub-Centre operated from Roma was formed on 12 September 1949 and was officially opened by the State President of the QATB, Mr Hugh Millar, on 22 October 1949. Ambulance Officer T.G. Clatworthy was appointed Officer-in-Charge.



Centre building

A public meeting was held on 6 May 1950 to discuss the possibility of forming an independent centre. The meeting was well-attended and it was very evident that the people present were in favour of forming an independent centre, a resolution being carried to that effect.

At this meeting applications for membership of a Provisional Committee were called and a ballot was held on 14 June 1950 with the successful candidates being J. McCormack, L.A. Simpson, S. Barry, W.A. Dehnert, R. Gate, H. Green and A.S.L. Stewart. This Committee carried on until the triennial election that was held in 1952.

## Aueensland Ambulance

The Surat Centre was gazetted as a self-governing Centre on 16 December 1950. Mr Stewart was appointed Chairperson and the Officer-in-Charge. Mr T.G. Clatworthy became the first Superintendent. By 1953 the Centre had an honorary staff of six members - C.E. Davidson, R.W. Chenery, T.A. Stephenson, P. Arthur, D. McDonald and G.T. Morrissey.

During the 1954-55 financial year, the Committee purchased the residence and land on which the Brigade premises were situated at a cost of \$1,200.

In 1969 after many years of fundraising and with the strong support of the town and district, the Committee was able to erect new premises on land which had been given by the Warroo Shire Council in 1966.

The \$34,000 complex was officially opened by the former Treasurer of Queensland, Sir Thomas Wiley, on 18 October 1969, in the presence of 100 local residents and visitors.

Officers who have served as Superintendent at the Surat Centre are:

 1950 – 1960
 T.G. Clatworthy

 1960 – 1984
 S.R. Howard

 1984 – 1985
 C.L. French

 1985 – 1989
 J.Nicholson

Present occupant Superintendent G Burrows

Since the establishment of the Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

A.S.L. Stewart

J. McCormack

L.A. Simpson

N.F. Green

F. Robinson

R.J. Hintz

G. Taylor

V.B. Minnage