HISTORY OF THE

Rueensland Ambulance

Noosa District

t a meeting of the QATB Brisbane Committee held on 14 May 1917 the Secretary reported that he had received communications and visits from residents of Cooroy and Pomona regarding opening new Centres in these towns. Permission was given to the Secretary to visit both these places on the understanding that he would not in any way commit the Brisbane Committee.

On 17 July considering a recommendation by the Secretary the Committee approved the opening of a Sub-Centre at Pomona and the transfer of Senior Bearer I.V. Rookwood to Pomona as Officer-in-Charge.



Pomona Sub-Centre building

A local Advisory Committee was formed and on its recommendation a freehold property with a building was purchased.

On the recommendation of the Brisbane Committee, the Pomona Advisory Committee made application to convert the Sub-Centre into an independent Centre. Pomona was gazetted as a Branch Centre in August 1919. Mr Rookwood was appointed Superintendent.

The first Branch Centre Committee comprised A. Parker (Chairperson), A.P. Curran (Hon Treasurer), R.V. Ford, W.H. Goldsworthy, R. Shape, J.B. Cunningham and T. Alfredson.

Superintendent Rookwood passed away in December 1920, and Senior Bearer W.G. Nash, Officer-in-Charge of the Wowan Sub-Centre (Mount Morgan Centre) was appointed to the vacant position. In 1921 the Committee decided to purchase a Dodge Motor Ambulance because of the limited area over which the Brigade could travel by horse wagon.

HISTORY OF THE Lucensland Ambulance

On 7 May 1925, the State Executive Committee considered an application from the Gympie Committee for the establishment of a Sub-Centre at Cooroy. When the Gympie Ambulance Transport Brigade affiliated with the QATB in 1923 its service at Cooroy was classified as a QATB Honorary Centre.



Cooroy Centre building

The following paragraph was included in the Annual Report of the Gympie Committee for the year ending 30 June 1925:

'Cooroy Honorary Centre which the Committee thought would be more efficiently administered if amalgamated with the Pomona Centre, but which was subsequently found to be impracticable, has applied to be established as a Sub-Centre. The matter has been before the QATB Executive Committee but no finality has been reached. In the meantime the Cooroy Committee, with the assistance of a Collector and a car from Gympie is endeavouring to raise sufficient funds to finance the establishment of a Sub-Centre.'

At a public meeting of contributors to the Pomona Centre held on 12 October 1925, it was decided to set aside the sum of £500 towards the erection of new ambulance quarters in the town. The Committee endeavoured to obtain a portion of the school grounds for building purposes but was unsuccessful. It was then resolved to build on the allotment where the garage stood. In 1927 the contract for the erection of the new building was let to Kopitke and Bell at a tender price of £769 10s. The Department of Works granted £400 towards the cost.

Early in 1926 all parties concerned decided that Cooroy should be amalgamated with Pomona, that the Noosa Shire Centre should be established at Pomona and that Mr D.M. Webster (who had been in charge of the Cooroy service prior to the amalgamation) should be appointed Officer-in-Charge of the Cooroy Sub-Centre.

Further arrangements were made by the State Executive Committee and agreed to by the parties concerned to dissolve the Pomona Committee and form a new Committee which would be representative of the Noosa Shire.

HISTORY OF THE

ueensland Ambulance

The following people were elected to the Noosa Shire Ambulance Committee in February 1926: A.C. King (Chairperson), E. Von Blanckensee (Honorary Treasurer), R. Mills, H.G. Barnes, J.B. Clarke, E. Wheeldon and J. Stead.

Cooroy became an independent Centre on 1 March 1932, and Senior Bearer Webster was appointed Superintendent. Members of the Provisional Committee were A.S. Douglas (Chairperson), G. Grant (Honorary Treasurer), F.E. Hymus, F. Larkin, E.H. Llewellyn, W.G. Mackenzie and W. O'Brien. In 1939 Superintendent Bill Nash of Pomona transferred to the Murgon Centre and was succeeded by Superintendent J. Dempsey of Ravenshoe.

Superintendent Webster resigned in 1941 and Deputy Superintendent A.H. Wall of Innisfail was appointed Superintendent of the Cooroy Centre.

In 1942 the Cooroy Committee formed an Honorary Centre at Tewantin with Mr James Sweet in charge.

Mr R.J. McAnally, Chairperson of the Cooroy Committee included the following statement concerning Brigade quarters in the Committee's Report for the 1946 financial year.

"The residence is in good order and has had a new tank and stand erected and water laid in the laundry. A new building for ambulance purposes will have to be erected in the very near future as the present building is totally unsuited for the work. The present building was in the railway yards many years ago, before being removed to its present site in 1927. The present building cannot be suitably altered and with this end in view a Building Fund has been opened with a deposit of f_{280} .

In the same financial year, the Pomona Committee purchased a parcel of land in the central part of the town and an architect was engaged to prepare sketch plans and give an estimated cost for a new building. In 1949 the residence occupied by the Superintendent was moved to the present site and reerected with brigade premises underneath. These new premises were officially opened by Mr D.A. Low MLA on 17 March 1951.

In 1951 the Cooroy Committee invited tenders for a new Centre with a residence above and, on the completion of the project, the old buildings were sold.

Superintendent Wall resigned from his position at the Cooroy Centre in 1951 to take up a position as Ambulance Officer at the Wynnum Centre. He was replaced by Superintendent D. Gilvarry of Biloela. Following upon a request from the QATB Pomona Committee and the QATB Cooroy Committee to join their areas, the Queensland Ambulances Services Board recommended to the Minister for Health that the two Committees be dissolved and the areas of each Committee be combined into one. The Governor in Council approved the formation of the Noosa District Committee in February 1987.

Dr V.R. Luck was appointed Chairperson of the Committee and Superintendent Gottke of Cooroy became the Superintendent of the Noosa District Centre. Pomona Centre was then classified as a Sub-Centre.

Following the death of Mr John Dempsey in 1962 other officers who served in the position of Superintendent Secretary at Pomona were J.M. Carroll, J.B. Bryant, D.T. Easton and A.G. Gottke.

HISTORY OF THE ueensland Ambulance

After the transfer of Superintendent Gilvarry to the Mount Isa Centre the following Superintendents served at the Cooroy Centre:

T.S. Maresse K. Midgley B.H. Harvey A.G. Gottke

The following people have filled the position of Chairperson at the Pomona and Cooroy Centre:

Pomona

A. Parker E. Von Blanckensee J.A. Ralph D.J. Kildey E.F. Bazzo J. Campbell F.N. Rolfe R.V. Ford A.C King R.H. Mills J.W. Overell F.R. Cook B.R. Stewart A.S. Hess

Cooroy

A.S. Douglas K.J. McAnally Dr V.R. Luck F. Larkin A.W. Bonnell