Kueensland Ambulance Maleny

t the annual ambulance ball held in the North Pine (Petrie) School of Arts Hall in July 1903, Mr R. Nye Stevens (QATB General Secretary and Metropolitan Superintendent) gave a lecture on ambulance methods. Subsequently public lectures in first aid commenced and one of the students was Mr J.K. Skerman of Strathpine.

The provision of some form of ambulance service in the Maleny district, where so much scrub felling was taking place, became a necessity.

Mr Skerman approached Mr Stevens in 1904 about the provision of an Ashford litter to be placed at the disposal of residents of the 'Range', and he undertook to canvass the district for funds to meet the cost of the equipment. Sufficient funds were collected to purchase a litter with stretcher and three additional stretchers that were placed with Mr J. Grigor (Wootha), Mr W. Simpson (North Maleny) and Mr L. Tesch (Teutoberg-Witta).

Accidents at Maleny were frequently of a serious character from the timber felling and sawmilling, and it was the custom for relays of men to carry a patient down the mountain on an improvised stretcher to Landsborough for conveyance by train to hospital.

On Friday 4 June 1915, an official visit was made to Maleny by the General Secretary of the QATB for the purpose of inquiring into and reporting on the advisability of establishing an Honorary Centre at Maleny.

The principal mover in the formulation of an honorary Centre was Mr A.E. Godwin of Maleny Hotel. By means of a benefit he had raised the sum of f_{21} for the ambulance before making application for the establishment of an Honorary Centre.

A public meeting of Maleny residents had been arranged for the evening of the General Secretary's arrival. He was asked to address the meeting on ambulance matters and first aid, and to explain the procedure necessary for the formation of an Honorary Centre. At the conclusion of the public meeting a resolution was passed asking the Brisbane Centre to establish an Honorary Centre. In anticipation of the request being complied with, the following people were appointed to an Advisory Committee: Dr Sampson (Chairperson), E. Godwin (Honorary Secretary), S. Harding, J.K. Skerman, R. Gibson and J. Candy. Dr Sampson offered to render all possible help and advice to the Brigade (if formed) and also to conduct first aid classes.

The Brisbane Committee subsequently approved the formation of an Honorary Centre with Honorary Bearer E. Curry (formerly attached to the Brisbane Centre) in charge.

At its July 1916 meeting the Brisbane Committee decided that, in reference to the enquiry for one of the Parent Centre's sulkies, the Advisory Committee at Maleny be advised that a sulky and harness was available for the sum of f_{20} including the rail freight from Brisbane.

HISTORY OF THE Lucensland Ambulance

In July 1918, the Honorary Bearer in charge requested that a motor ambulance be supplied. The Brisbane Committee decided that as Maleny was an Honorary Centre with no paid official in charge the matter should be deferred.

With the proposal for acquiring an ambulance car a committee was formed in Maleny, and public subscriptions provided the necessary funds for the purchase of a Ford vehicle. The committee consisted of A. McLean, J. Grigor, W. Nethercote and E. Tesch.

Also in 1918 the Brisbane Committee sought a recommendation from the Chairperson of the Maleny Honorary Centre Committee for the payment of an honorarium of $\pounds 5$ for the honorary Officer-in-Charge.

An allotment of land was donated by Mr E.T. Dixon and a garage for the car erected upon it. On 10 June 1915, the Brisbane Committee opened an Honorary Centre at Landsborough and in 1923 formed the Honorary Centre into a Sub-Centre with Mr J.T. Woods as Officer-in-Charge. Mr Woods had previously been in charge of the St Lawrence Sub-Centre.



Centre building

It was the wish of the founders of the Landsborough service that the Centre should become selfgoverning when financially capable of doing so. Subsequently application was made to the Home Secretary to have Landsborough Sub-Centre raised to the status of a Branch Centre. This was accordingly granted to take effect as from 1 January 1927, but it was stipulated that Maleny Honorary Centre should be transferred from the Brisbane Centre to the Landsborough Branch Centre. Mr W.T. Walker, the Officer-in-Charge, was promoted to the rank of Superintendent.

In 1932 the Landsborough Centre ceased operations and the ambulance vehicle was handed over to the Executive Committee.

HISTORY OF THE ueensland Ambulance

At the meeting of the State Executive Committee on 10 November 1932 it was suggested that the Honorary Centre at Maleny become a self-governing Centre, and at the same time take over the Landsborough District which was unable to support a paid Superintendent.

Records show that in 1933 the Maleny Honorary Centre was staffed by seven honorary officers with Mr H. Jones in charge. In 1935 the officer in charge was Mr R.F. Bennett.

On 1 November 1937 Mr C. Liekefett was appointed 'organiser and car attendant' at a salary of £78 per annum. He was appointed a permanent bearer from 1 July 1940 and was promoted to the rank of Superintendent in July 1942 when Maleny became a self-governing Centre. In 1948 Superintendent Chas Liekefett accepted a position at the Brisbane Centre and was succeeded by Ambulance Officer A.W. Myers of Nambour.

Since the retirement of Mr Myers in 1966 the following officers have served in the position of Superintendent of the Maleny Centre:

 1966 – 1972
 T.J. Knight

 1972 – 1973
 M.C. McDonald

 1973 – 1975
 J.B. Bryant

 Present occupant Superintendent John McLennan

Q

at Superintendent A. Myers

Mr A. McLean resigned from the position of Chairperson of the Maleny Ambulance committee on 14 October 1936, after 20 years' service. He was succeeded by Mr J.A. Grigor, who had been a member of the committee from 1926. Following the death of Mr Grigor in 1958, Mr A. Evans was appointed Chairperson and remained in that position until his death in 1961.

W. Burnett

Then followed: 1961 – 1977 1977 – 1990

1977 – 1990C.H. BrycePresent occupant ChairpersonL. Doolan