HISTORY OF THE

ueensland Ambulance

Jakey

n 1905 the Toowoomba Committee established an Honorary Centre at Oakey with Honorary Bearer Reynolds in charge. Equipment consisted of a hand litter and first aid material. A building to house the equipment was erected in 1908.

The 1909 Annual Report of the Toowoomba Committee shows that no particular person was in charge of the Oakey Honorary Centre. In that year, Honorary Bearer C.W. Reynolds was in charge of Jondaryan Honorary Centre.

In 1910 the Jondaryan facility was closed and Mr C.W. Reynolds was placed in charge of the Oakey service. He was assisted by Honorary Bearer R. Bauer.

Mr Reynolds took charge of an Honorary Centre at Goombungee in 1911 and in 1912 Honorary Bearer Bauer was joined by Honorary Bearer H.G. Fry.

By 1915 there were no Honorary Bearers in Oakey, however, the residents still had the benefit of a rubber-tyred litter.

At a public meeting held at Oakey on 28 November 1958 it was decided to form a committee to investigate the possibility of establishing a Sub-Centre at Oakey. The Committee comprised C. Ballon (Chairperson), E.R. Teakle (Secretary), Cr E.E. Janetzki, B.C.W. Koehler and F. Mitchell.

As the report of the Committee was in not in favour of forming a Sub-Centre another public meeting was held on 23 April 1959. Cr E.E. Janetzki was elected Chairperson, Mr B.C.W. Koehler, Deputy Chairperson and Mr C.C. Ballon, Secretary.

In May 1959, an application was made to the Minister of Health and Home Affairs for permission to establish a self-governing Centre. Cr Janetzki, whose efforts had contributed in no small way to the formation of the Centre, passed away on 7 July 1959. His early demise was a severe blow to the Committee and to the community in general. Mr Koehler was then elected Chairperson, and Mr L.T. Statham as Deputy Chairperson.

On 1 September 1960 approval was granted by the Governor in Council for the establishment of a selfgoverning Centre. This brought to fruition the many months of hard work which had been put into this project, not only by the Committee, but also by the many residents of the district who wanted their own Centre.

The purchase of a residence in Cherry Street was financed by a private loan of \pounds 1,000 and a bank overdraft of \pounds 1,900.

Applications were called for the position of Superintendent/Secretary and Senior Bearer H.O. Ford of Kingaroy was subsequently appointed. He commenced duty on 1 February 1961.

HISTORY OF THE Queensland Ambulance

A second-hand car was purchased from the Brisbane Centre and a loan of $\pm 1,100$ from the State Executive Committee was arranged to pay for this unit. The first Honorary Bearers appointed to assist the Superintendent were L.F. Klein and L. Grundy.

The first Centre Committee comprised B.C.W. Koehler (Chairperson), L.T. Statham (Deputy Chairperson), C.C. Ballon (Hon Treasurer), Dr K. Archer, T.L. Janetzki, E.R. Teakle and B.V.A. Kanowski. The Committee's first representative on the State Executive Committee was Mr Eric Teakle. In 1963 the Committee decided, in view of the volume of work, to appoint a second permanent officer. The successful applicant was Senior Bearer J.T. Ronan of Charleville.

In 1970, after years of planning and fundraising, the Committee was pleased to report to its contributors that the construction of a new Centre building and Superintendent's residence had commenced. The tender price was \$47,950.

The official opening of the Centre building on 27 February 1971 marked the commencement of a second decade of a permanent ambulance service at Oakey. It was appropriate that the opening date was almost ten years to the day from the date of the appointment of the first Superintendent of the Centre, Mr Harry Ford.

The opening was performed by Sir Douglas Fraser, ISO, President of the QATB State Council. After Sir Douglas had turned the key to officially open the Centre, afternoon tea was served in the plant room. This was a combined venture of the QATB Ladies Committee, the Oakey Branch of the QCWA and the Oakey RSL Ladies Auxiliary.

Following the passing of Superintendent Ford in 1973, Ambulance Officer J.T. Ronan was appointed to the vacant position.

In 1981 Jack Ronan retired and was succeeded by the present Superintendent Mr Neville Church.

Since the establishment of the Centre in 1960 the followingpeople have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:1960 – 1964B.C.W. Koehler1964 – 1972L.T. Statham1972 – 1979K.C. FoxPresent occupant ChairpersonL.D. Baxter



Superintendent H.O. Ford at opening of new Centre building